Sobre/About Andre

Pianist, composer and arranger, André Marques has been a member of Hermeto Pascoal’s group since 1994. With him, he has toured the world, recorded two albums and participated in some of the most important Jazz Festivals.

In honor of Hermeto, André was recorded by the label Borandá, with John Patitucci on bass and Brian Blade on drums, the CD “Viva Hermeto”.
Apart from his work with Hermeto, André has already developed a solid career formed through over 18 released works with numerous groups.

He is a member of Trio Curupira (nominated for the Latin Grammy), the André Marques Sexteto and the leader of the Brazilian music orchestra, Vintena Brasileira.

As an arranger, his work can be heard in the projects "Obra Viva - Tribute to Tom Jobim" and "Trilhando", both performed at SESC Pompéia (São Paulo - SP), in which he was the musical director and wrote and all the arrangements. The interpreters were Danilo Caymmi, Rosa Passos, Elza Soares, Thalma de Freitas, Nelson Ayres, Simoninha, Fafá de Belém, among others. In 2012, also as an arranger, he won the I Festival "Ars Brasilis", which awarded the best instrumental arrangements of songs by Milton Nascimento for Big Bands.

In 2017, he directed the Hermeto Pascoal Big Band in the recording of the group’s first CD, which had the general musical direction of Hermeto himself and winner of the Grammy Latino's best Jazz album.

In 2018, he released the CD "Rio-São Paulo", by the Blaxtream label, which was nominated for the Latin Grammy in the
category of best jazz album, competing with Chucho Valdes, Hugo Fattoruso, among others.

As a teacher, he directs the CEVIMU and teaches at the Drama and Musical Conservatory of Tatuí-SP and at Souza Lima College, in São Paulo - SP, and teaches several musical workshops around the world.

André Marques has performed alongside great artists such as Hermeto Pascoal Group, John Patitucci, Brian Blade, Ari Hoenig, Clarence Penn, Hamílton de Holanda, Arismar do Espírito Santo, Jane Duboc, Luciana Souza, Mônica Salmaso, Sérgio Santos, Gabriel Grossi, Thiago do Espírito Santo, Ithamara Koorax, Arrigo Barnabé, Danilo Caymmi, Yamandú Costa, Toninho Ferragutti, Dominguinhos, Kiko Freitas, Heraldo do Monte, Carlos Malta, Elza Soares, Renato Teixeira, Nenê, among others.